The B’Town Jazz Fest celebrates Bloomington’s rich jazz heritage and showcases the area’s leading professional artists, as well as some collegiate and high school performers.  Everyone is invited to come learn about and enjoy jazz music. Drop by, come and go, or stay all day!

The convenient location at the Monroe Convention Center provides free parking and air-conditioning on a hot day!  It is within walking distance of many downtown restaurants and hotels, but food, beer, and wine will be available for purchase at the Jazz Fest itself, as well as T-shirts, artists’ CDs, and calendars. (Cash or check preferred for the latter.)

 View past events under Watch & Listen > Photos
or look for B’Town Jazz Fest albums at

Donations and sponsorships allow us to offer this jazz-filled 10-hour event free of charge to the community! BECOME A SPONSOR FOR AS LITTLE AS $100  or a CO-PRESENTER FOR $2000 and UP. See the  Support > Donate/Sponsor page for more information.

The B’Town Jazz Fest will take an intermission in 2020, but stay tuned for an outstanding collection of virtual programming in the months ahead. Stay healthy and safe for now and take good care of each other!.

2019 Performances

  • 12-12:45 pm:  B-Town Bearcats 
    • Mike Lucas (leader, piano), Kathleen Miller (vocals), Bill James (clarinet), Jack Shelton (trumpet), Danny Hughey (trombone), Phil Sloffer (tuba), Robin Hopkins (banjo), John Valdez (drums)
  • 1-1:45 pm:  Crossroads Quintet
    • Performing selections from their new release “Meeting Ground: Crossroads EP”
    • Tyler Bauer (tenor saxophone), Zachary Finnegan (trumpet), Austin Thomas (piano), Brendan Keller-Tuberg (bass), Jameson Scriver (drums) 
  • 2-2:45 pm:  Rachel Caswell Quartet 
    • Rachel Caswell (vocals), Jamaal Baptiste (piano), Jeremy Allen (bass), Cami Mennitte Pererya (drums)
  • 3-3:45 pm:  Charlie Ballantine Quartet with Amanda Gardier
    • Charlie Ballantine (guitar), Amanda Gardier (alto saxophone),  Brendan Keller-Tuberg (bass), Cami Mennitte Pererya (drums)
  • 4-4:50 pm:  Jazz Fables Quintet +1 with Michael Eaton
    • David Miller (trumpet), Tom Walsh (saxophones), Michael Eaton (tenor saxophone), Luke Gillespie (piano), Jeremy Allen (bass), Cami Mennitte Pererya (drums)
  • 5-5:50 pm:  Monika Herzig Acoustic Project with Janiece Jaffe
    • Monika Herzig (piano), Janiece Jaffe (vocals), Carolyn Dutton (violin), Scott Pazera (guitar), Peter Kienle (bass), Josh Roberts (drums)
  • 6-6:50 pm:  Jamey Aebersold Quartet 
    • Jamey Aebersold (alto saxophone), Gabe Evens (piano), Tyrone Wheeler (bass), Jonathan Higgins (drums)
  • 7-7:50 pm:  Clark Hunt’s Drive-By Big Band 
    • Clark Hunt (trumpet), Tom Walsh, Ana Nelson (alto saxophone), Rob Dixon, Dan Nix (tenor saxophone), Jimmy Farace (baritone saxophone), Joey Tartell, John Raymond, Nate VanderWerf, Pat Harbison (trumpet), Tommy Niedecker, Andrew Danforth, Jake Handelman, Richard Dole (trombone), Joel Tucker (guitar), Ellie Pruneau (piano), Brendan Keller-Tuberg (bass), Jameson Scriver (drums)
  • 8-8:50 pm:  Joe Galvin & Descarga 5 + 2 
    • Joe Galvin (percussion), Nate Johnson (flute), Ana Nelson (saxophones), Zachary Finnegan (trumpet), Jamaal Baptiste (piano), Jeremy Allen (bass), Stephany Cohen (congas)
  • 9-10 pm:  Luke Gillespie & IU Jazz Faculty Members
    • Performing selections from Gillespie’s new release “Moving Mists”
    • Luke Gillespie (piano), Greg Ward (alto saxophone), Tom Walsh (tenor saxophone), Pat Harbison, John Raymond (trumpet), Wayne Wallace (trombone), Jeremy Allen (bass), Cami Mennitte Pererya (drums)


2019 show presented by…

B’Town Jazz,  Jamey Aebersold,  and the Monroe Convention Center

Gold Sponsors:

Silver Sponsors:

Toni LeTaw
The Stardance Band
……c/o Mark Wiedenmayer
Duke Energy

IU School of Music Jazz Studies
Janko’s Little Zagreb
Oliver Winery
CFC Properties
Monika Herzig
Steve Peterson Photography

Event Sponsors:

Lida Baker
Paul Newman
Andrea Wiley & Rick Lippke
Craig Coley
Robert Ralston
Rajin Shankar (graphics)
Matt Jaskulski / VisionApp
Do Salon
Butcher’s Block
IU Credit Union
David Lawson
Craig Brenner
Nancy Shin
Jerrold Stern
Cleve Wilhoit
Charles & Linda Pickle
Ensman/Shankar Family
John Porter & Dominick DiOrio
Jameson Scriver
Charlotte Zietlow
Pete & Amy Yoder




Jazz Fest Committee

John Porter
David Miller
Pat Harbison
Lisa Ensman
Andrea Wiley
Zach Finnegan
Steve Peterson